fb

How do you name things in your fantasy worlds?

Forums Fiction Research and Worldbuilding How do you name things in your fantasy worlds?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Mrs. Skywalker
    @padawanpadme

How do you writer beings come up with names for everything in your fantasy worlds? I really do admire you people. Specifically, names for things like cities, relams, lands, and countries and such? I am not good with naming things but yet using name generators seems cheesy and has no feeling or special story. (is this just me?)

Can you please help and poor writer worm and her inability to name things? XD

"I never made a deal with Kanjiklub."

Aislinn Mollisong
    @aislinn-mollisong

Hi! I hope I can answer your questions a bit.

The way I usually name things depends on what it is. For places, I kind of use whatever I want, but with my current WIP I’ve been using words in other languages that match the place. like I have one kingdom called Magnus, after the Latin word for great. It’s the biggest kingdom on my continent (plus it has a VOLCANO!) so the name goes pretty well with it. Another is called Ehren, which is a slight misspelling of a name for Ireland. As you could probably guess, Ehren is very reminiscent of Celtic and Irish culture.

For people, I pick random names I like, or try to find one that means something in a different language. (I have an entire list of names that mean ‘fire’ in Irish)

But I do have a rule of sorts for myself, which is pretty much ‘keep it simple’. I use ‘normal’ names as much as I can, and don’t just smush letters together to make something sound cool. I’ve seen a lot of really good stories have their coolness a bit ruined by having really complicated crazy names.

Hero with an overactive imagination

Princess Foo
    @princess-foo

@padawanpadme *laughs because of despair* Figuring out names is really hard. I usually do one of two things.