fb

Historical Fiction Writers

Help with historical mystery fiction

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    katie02
    @katie02

Hey y’all!

I’m brand new here but I’ve been writing for quite a few years now… never finished any WIPs, but this time I’m bound and determined to. However, I was wondering if any of you would be interested in reading my “introduction” and first chapter. I honestly am not sure if I like it or if it is intriguing enough for readers to want to read more. Also, I may have over-developed some of my side characters? I really have no idea and at this point, I just need another pair of unbiased eyes to help me out… I’ve read and re-read this so much that I’m not sure I like it anymore. I would love to have some brutally honest feedback, please!

INTRODUCTION

I ain’t much of a writer, but I thought as I should put this down for all Sunshine’s little tykes and her relations too (those that’s to come).

It’s a queer kind of story – one not even famous people could think up in them big brains of theirs to write in books. Yes, it’s queer all right. I certainly thought so the day Sunshine was found in the mailcar of the eastbound train. She was just a little tyke then – a short, round thing with the biggest, bluest eyes you’d ever seen, and curls as golden as the sunshine. I’d tell you what her real name is, but if she’d had one, I never knew it.

She was just Sunshine.

E.B. Bandford

P.S. Since I ain’t much of a writer, and there’s so much more to the story than I ever saw, I got certain other persons as shall remain unnamed here (Sunshine told me to put that down) to help with the writing. And used a pinch of – what do you call it? – imagination, I guess? Imagining that’d be true to who the people are and how it all went down. But mind you, the writing of it were all my idea. And Sunshine did the editing of the book. She’s good like that you know – making it all pretty like and proper. E.B.B.

CHAPTER 1