fb

Writing Paces and Schedules

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions Writing Paces and Schedules

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    Noah Cochran
    @noah-cochran

Okay y’all, I’m curious about a couple things. First off, for those of you who aren’t total beginners (you’ve been writing consistently and with a purpose for a few months or more), approximately how many words do you write per hour ? Or at least try to write per hour, I know it can vary greatly, and writers get faster and faster the more they’ve written, but what do you currently aim or to write per hour (or typically write per hour)?

Secondly, for those of you who are really staying consistent on your WIPs, what are your writing schedules? Again, I know it can vary (life has a habit of getting in the way), but what is your typical writing schedule (morning, evening, sporadically, etc…) and how many hours do you try to write on the average day?

Lastly, how long in words does a book need to be for you to consider it long or epic in length (I’m just curious)? And how long do you usually prefer books to be (I’m thinking along the lines of fantasy or medieval fiction particularly)?

Here, I’ll tag a few people in:

@rose-colored-fancy

@sparrowhawke

@obrian-of-the-surface-world

@arindown

Rose
    @rose-colored-fancy

@noah-cochran

Hi Noah, nice to see you around again!

Or at least try to write per hour, I know it can vary greatly, and writers get faster and faster the more the written, but what do you currently aim to write per hour?

On a good day and an interesting chapter, I’ll get nearly 2000 words an hour. Say, about 1800. On a slow chapter or a hard day, I’d say my average is about 1500 words an hour. Forewarning, this depends very much on your typing speed. I touch-type, and I’ve had a lot of practice with that, so I type very quickly.