fb

Writing Motivation

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions Writing Motivation

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Laurel
    @law0413

Hey guys!

My name’s Laurel, and I’ve been working on a book for nearly seven years now. I began the project when I was in seventh grade, and as you might imagine, my writing capabilities have vastly improved since then. I’m now a sophomore in college majoring in English and minoring in Great Books, and while I have plenty of time to write, my motivation has been…well, lacking.
    I finally have a solid plot map, a firm idea of what to do, and what I hope are the skills to pull it off, but I can’t seem to make myself do it. I want this sixth rewrite to be the last but haven’t been able to get past halfway through the story in several years. Which makes me sad, since I’ve come to love the characters and have visions of a whole series one day!

So, I guess my main question is this: how do y’all stick it in for the long game? What habits help you stay motivated and actually get things done on your draft? I’ve been through a few rounds with depression/anxiety which absolutely zaps my energy, and the pandemic certainly isn’t helping, so any advice relating to that would be awesome.
    Thanks in advance—good luck with y’all’s projects! If anybody needs a critique partner I’d be happy to help 🙂

I say I won’t buy any more books until I’ve finished the ones I have, and then I laugh at myself.

Anne of Lothlorien
    @anne-of-lothlorien

@law0413

Well, I struggle with this too. A lot. I’ve been working on my current WIP for a whole year and I have… seven chapters written. :I

Pure motivation wise, I usually like re-reading through old, unrelated works. Random poems, snippets from two years ago at that one McDonald’s in Kentucky, character descriptions I’d forgotten. Often times random words and unrelated thoughts can twist themselves into ideas and just what I needed to get writing again.