fb

This isn't really about writing, but…

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions This isn't really about writing, but…

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Grace
    @h-jones

Hi all! H. Jones here. I was a member of the Meraki guild a while back (GO MEERKATS! *pom-poms*), but ended up resigning due to… well, because I thought God was calling me in a different direction. However, I’ve been thinking and now I’m not sure what I should do.

The thing is, being a former internet-junky, I’ve had some bad experiences with writing. The interwebs can be, needless to say, a really dark place. I am even guilty myself of using writing in not-so-God-glorifying ways. So now, writing/the internet/all that jazz is kind of like a link to a sinful past. Whenever I sit down to write, while my intentions may be pure at first, all I end up feeling is just a deep ickiness. That’s a large reason why I quit.

But at the same time, writing is a skill of mine. I feel like it’s something I’m good at. Writing and art both. Yet, they’re both links to a past I’d really like to forget about. Still, for some reason, I always circle back around to it. One moment I’m like, “I’ll never write again! I won’t!” and then maybe a week or so later, I’m picking up my pencil and making notes. I don’t know if it’s me being weak and unable to resist temptation, or if it’s something more. I really don’t know, and it’s frustrating. And if God really doesn’t want me to write anymore, then I want to be able to do that for Him. I would do anything in order to please Him, you know? But is that really what I need to do?