Self-Doubt

Tagged: 

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    J. Dekreel
    @dekreel

(Yes, Kapeefers, I am aware that I posted a topic exactly like this on KP. Just bear with me. This one isn’t a copy. ;-P )

Ahh, those one-and-a-half words of writer woe (I say “one-and-a-half” because of the hyphen). I’m sure we’ve all experienced self-doubt at least once in our lives as people who like to create. As for me, it’s kind of crippling. The trouble with being a “jack of all trades, master of none” is that I end up envying people who are more skilled at things than I am, especially writing and art. I have some experience in many fields but not lots of experience in a few fields. . . which I hate. I love writing, art, music, acting, photography and who-knows-how-many-other things, but my skill in all these fields are generally mediocre (I’m not trying to get you to pity me — I’m generalizing).

I’m not as huge on writing (and art) as I’d like to be. I know I can get better at writing — I have the head-knowledge that I have the ability, but there’s always a part of me whispering, “You’ll never be able to write as well as that friend,” or, “It’s impossible to reach this person’s level of skill.” Basically, “You are a master of none; you will never succeed at anything.” Does anyone have thoughts on this?

If you’re struggling with self-doubt too (don’t worry — we all do!!), don’t be afraid to explain your situation and ask for advice! We are here for you!

“I CAN DO ALL THINGS THROUGH CHRIST WHO STRENGTHENS ME.” ~~Phillippians 4:13

ENFP-T. Cartoonist, "half-writer", wolfish.
    Blog

Buddy J.
    @wordsmith

@dekreel

Hola, friend.

As a guy named Jamal Daubu said, “I don’t care!”

*smiles* Yeah… I’ve heard this story… this life… this struggle. Certain parts of it I relate with, but others not so much. And those words, I don’t care, doesn’t mean that I don’t care about your struggle. Instead, it means I don’t mind that you struggle.