New to Themes

Forums Fiction Themes New to Themes

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Wonderland7
    @wonderland7

Hi! I’m new to writing themes into my stories. I might have unwittingly written it into my stories in the past, but now I want to be more intentional about it. Especially when it comes to more realistic stories. Does anyone have any advice about writing themes? Thanks!

"If life were short, where would all the adventures be?"
      - anonymous

"We're all mad here."

Katherine Baker
      @kb-writer

Hello @wonderland7,

I’m also pretty new to intentionally using themes, so I’m going to sneak in and listen to what everyone has to say.

I do have a question about whether a certain piece of advice I heard is good or not: I once heard that some people don’t intentionally add a theme into the first draft. They write it first, reread the story afterward, find out what theme was unintentionally in there, and expand that one. Before I give this as advice I must ask: is that good advice?

Great topic! I can’t wait to hear what’s said.

Always remember you're unique...
      ...Just like everyone else

valtmy
      @valtmy

@wonderland7 @kb-writer

Interesting topic! I guess, like many things, it depends on the situation. If, say, you were inspired to start your writing project because of a bible verse or because there is a certain truth you want to share with the world, you can deliberately weave your theme in your decisions about your plot, characters, setting etc. That would constitute using writing themes more “intentionally”, I suppose. Though I can see that doing things this way might run the risk of the writing getting “preachy”.