fb

Messes Left by Our Younger Selves

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions Messes Left by Our Younger Selves

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    R.M. Archer
    @r-m-archer

When I was a baby writer I didn’t pay attention to logic, pretty much at all. All I cared about at the time was that I had fun with the story and it was cool in the end. (Which I kind of miss, actually.) Of course, this has resulted in a lot of messes I’ve had to clean up to revive some of the stories I wrote when I was younger, and my current mess is figuring out why a mother would send her 8, 6, 4, and 0/1-year-olds to Earth to protect them but keep behind the 9-year-old. If it was because there was a cut-off point and she thought the 9-year-old was mature enough, why wasn’t the 8-year-old if he was only a year younger? And how do I fix this without ruining the sibling dynamics that have existed since I was seven?

So in honor of the messes we can leave for ourselves, what’s the biggest writing mess your younger self has left for you to clean up?

Fantasy/dystopian/sci-fi author. Mythology nerd. ENFP. Singer.

I, David
    @i-david

@r-m-archer

Three letters.

I.

O.

U.

Four
    INFP
    songwriter

Alabama Rose
    @bama-rose

@r-m-archer

I got myself into a mess by saying I’m interested in writing my friend’s story. I was all excited and really wanted to write it, and now I’m like, “Okay, that was kinda dumb. I have no idea how to write that person’s story and I really don’t have any passion to.” But that specific person is super pumped and wants me to do it right away… So yeah. I’m not sure what to do about that! … Haha, when you make a promise at a younger age, one that you think you’ll keep and end up not so sure…

Courage, dear heart ~ Aslan

Veraza Winterknight
    @kari-karast