I’m really stuck, can I get some help?

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions I’m really stuck, can I get some help?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 68 total)
  • Author
    Urwen Starial
    @urwen-starial

@emberynus-the-dragonslayer, @banana-peacock-warrior, @josiah, @everyone else because my brain just needs so much help.

I have a pretty good writing schedule set up, and get general writing down regularly, but recently, I’ve been stuck in a rut. Unable to write. For ten days. TEN days. As a writer, I know how much my story is suffering, but I just can’t physically write, my brain has decided to die on me, or go on vacation, or, just disappear, it seems to think that it’s funny.

any tips on what to do? (yes, ten days, I’m so horrified).

"Peace in our time. Imagine that."

Emberynus The Dragonslayer
      @emberynus-the-dragonslayer

@urwen-starial

Are you trying to work on one particular WIP?

Sleep doesn't help if it's your soul that's tired.

Naiya Dyani
      @naiya-dyani

@urwen-starial Ugh, I’ve hit slumps like that too. They’re not fun at all, are they?

I’ll tell you one thing though–they do end! Don’t let how long it’s been scare you; you know you’re a writer at heart, and even if your brain is on vacation, it will come back.

Maybe your brain took a vacation because it needs one. Sometimes we writers wear our creative juices out without even realizing it. I’ve done it plenty of times. So maybe what would help is just taking a break. Set the writing aside–temporarily!–and let that part of your mind breathe by doing something else for a while. You’re an artist, right? It might help to focus on the art for a little while until the writing part of your mind returns all refreshed from its trip to Hawaii ๐Ÿ˜‰

So yeah, try not to worry (although I know from personal experience how impossible that is lol). You’ll get back in the groove! Let us know when things get better! ๐Ÿ™‚