How to become an editor

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions How to become an editor

This topic contains 20 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Holly Anne 2 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author

Thomas (CrØss_Bl₳de)
    @thewirelessblade

I know I dissappear all the time (YWWC, if you must know), but I have a question.

@jane-maree, I want to get into the editting gig. At least, I want to learn more about it. I know you’re an editor, do you have an resourses or tips for editing?

(This is an open converation, by the way)

*Forum Signature here*

Cassandra Hamm
    @cassandraia

I also would like to know more!

I crush readers' souls like grapes.

R.M. Archer
    @r-m-archer

Ditto.

Fantasy/dystopian/sci-fi author. Mythology nerd. ENFP. Singer.

Brianna Storm Hilvety
    @briannastorm

@thewirelessblade @cassandraia @r-m-archer

In addition to overseeing the publishing department here at SE, I’ve been a professional editor for almost five years and was recently certified by the Christian Editor Connection (an organization that rigorously screens and tests editors), so I have some insights to offer. 😉

1. Actively seek connections, experience, and education. Join a professional organization like The Christian PEN: Proofreaders and Editors Network. This is essential for keeping up to date with changes in the publishing industry. I would have been ignorant of so much information (both at running a freelance business and knowledge of editing) if I hadn’t joined the PEN at the outset of my career. The discussions the members have are invaluable!

Sharpen your skills and gain confidence by editing profusely while taking some courses in the areas you want to specialize in. The PEN Institute is the best option, but Writer’s Digest also has a few editing courses (just bear in mind that they’re not Christian based).