fb

How do I put this?

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions How do I put this?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    Buddy J.
    @wordsmith

Okay… I’d like some help.

Over the past two years I have written one novella (of forty one thousand words), eleven-ish short stories, an unfinished novel (or a tragedy short story) which stands at eight thousand words, and have one WIP to be a novel. I have started one or two others, but nothing worth mention.

On top of that I’ve been reading for a long time…

But have never had any curricular or formal training in the craft. I feel confident with my prose, and can usually be helpful in writing discussion, as well as being able to understand, comprehend, and apply, writing critique/advice, but don’t have the vocabularical understanding as would be immensely helpful. All of my training has been self taught, except for basic reading and writing skills along with random questions being answered here and there.

Most of everything I do is by sense, with certain pockets of knowledge to back it up…

I would like to fill in so that I have a whole wall instead of having to rely upon what I’ve seen in example fiction and pieces of advice from here and there.

What would be your suggestions for how to fill that in and expand my training, along with writing?

@daeus-lamb
    @brandon-miller @gabriellepollack @jane-maree 

Published author, reader of many books, Student in writing, and Lumenite!

Parker Hankins
    @parker

I would advise subscribing to lots of good writing blogs, maybe some podcasts. This is what’s really helped me.

Living in a world of mystery and dangerous predicaments while working with the AWESOME Meraki's.

Buddy J.
    @wordsmith

@parker

To a certain degree that would help me… but at the same time I think I’m looking for something different… possibly even paid.

Daeus Lamb
    @daeus-lamb