fb

Hey folks!

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    Scott K.
    @scoke

Hey there everyone! My name is Scott. I’ve really enjoyed what I’ve seen and read from Story Embers so far and would like to get to know all of you a bit more. (I joined the forum a while back but forgot how to access it!) Already, I can say that I appreciate the old-school forum format we have here. Reminds me of the good ol’ days, not to mention the format is so much easier to read for discussions.

For most of my life I’ve been interested in storytelling, so much that I devoted my time at university to study English (with an emphasis in Creative Writing). I graduated in ’09 with a BA and have dabbled in many kinds of writing since then. From technical/manual writing, to scripts/screenplays, to stage plays, to social media copywriting… I guess I’m a jack of all trades of sorts, but I wouldn’t dare call myself a master at any form or style. I’m not even formally published yet! (But that’s something I hope to change in the near future.)

Even though my goal when I was in college was to become a novelist, I have since branched out into more blog writing for nonfiction, and for fiction I write scenarios and modules for tabletop roleplay games. I know that’s definitely more niche than the novel writing that Story Embers seems to focus on, but for me, TTRPGs are a very rewarding experience, as it’s a culmination of what we know as the historical communal storytelling experience. I’ve actually begun to use TTRPGs as a way to build community with my local church and get to know people that way, especially the youth class I teach, so it’s been really cool to witness and, again, very rewarding as a writer. (Talk about live feedback!)