fb

Hey All!

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Taylor Clogston
    @taylorclogston

How’s it going?

I’m Taylor, a fantasy writer from New England. I graduated from a mix of The Potter’s School and ordinary homeschool in 2013, and until this past year took an unfortunate break from writing as I entered the work force.

I wrote and self-published a novella in the autumn of last year, and have spent nearly all my free time since reading books on the craft, taking writing classes, and learning about self-publishing. I’ve grown as a writer tremendously in the past few months, and I hope that pace continues. My current hurdle is learning structure, so if you have any recommendations on structuring—the less orthodox, the better—I’d love to hear them.

Currently I’m familiar with the three and five act classical structures, the Hero’s Journey, the Snowflake Method, Jane Cleland’s road map, Robert Butler’s lateral thinking notecard method, and Deborah Chester’s fantasy fiction plotting advice. None of it really works for me—my brain isn’t really wired right; I have problems with abstract, spatial, and temporal reasoning =P

Some of my biggest influences are Orson Scott Card, Glen Cook, Neil Gaiman, Ursula K. Le Guin, Brian Jacques, C.S. Lewis, Brandon Sanderson, and Roger Zelazny.

I won’t have a ton to contribute on here—I’ve been in a dark place in my life for a long time, and my writing doesn’t show the mildness and hopefulness the forum guidelines require. But I’ll do my best, and I’m sure I’ll enjoy getting to know you all :-}

I’m a member of a small Baptist church, where I’m on the audio-video team, and I also teach teens’ Sunday School on the teaching team. We just started a module on Joshua from Regular Baptist press, and it looks like it’ll be a good read.

Thanks for the welcome :-}

"...the one with whom he so sought to talk has already interceded for him." -The Master and Margarita

Filewriter
    @filewriter