fb

Help! My POV character hates the world!

Forums Fiction Characters Help! My POV character hates the world!

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Chalice
    @chalice

Hey friends and fellow writers!

So… I need help. I have a character who is kind of an avalanche of bitterness. She hates the situation she’s in, she hates the people around her, she hates herself…. Yeah… she’s kind of a mess.

Anyway, I’ve given this a lot of thought (I’ve been drafting this story for about five years now), and I’ve decided that she makes the best POV character for this story. Oof!

So my question is, how can I make myself like/root for this character who is so full of anger and hatred? Because I know if I’m not able to like her or root for her from the beginning then I’m not going to enjoy writing her story (even though I really love this story and I need to write it šŸ˜› ).

Anyway, if anyone can help me out, I would appreciate it so much!

@eden-anderson
    @naiya-dyani @noodle-mum @w-o-holmes @anne_the_noob14 and anyone else who has any thoughts or comments. šŸ™‚

ENFP-T/Artist/Writer/Musician
    ā€œCreativity takes courageā€ -Henri Matisse

Arindown (Gracie)
    @arindown

@chalice

This is a hard question. I’m not really sure, but my suggestions are to make yourself feel sorry for her by showing the low she has reached and then having the joy of, in a sense, saving her. And to make her have some good qualities that you admire. For example, she can be a total wreck, but be courageous or headstrong in a good way (like, she isn’t pushed around much).