fb

Hello! Theater Writer Here

Forums General Site Info Introduce Yourself Hello! Theater Writer Here

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    Graham
    @graham

Hello! I am a twenty-something Christian writer located in central Virginia. I love what the Story Embers community is doing to encourage Christian storytellers.

I am primarily a composer/lyricist attempting to write musicals for the stage. I am also trying to write the “book” (musical theater parlance for script), but my skills are not as strong in this area. I have a couple different projects I am working on at the moment, but it is a slow process as I’m sure many of you writers can relate to!

Anyone else here writing for the stage? Any playwrights or aspiring playwrights? I’m always open to meeting potential collaborators!

Joshua Scheele
    @storysmith

@graham

Hi Graham! Welcome aboard and it is great to have you!

Writing a musical sounds like a lot fun. I would say am the opposite. I am primarily a fantasy writer but I am also attempting learn songwriting even though my musical talent is not very strong. I will probably need help in the area when I get to those. lol

I would like to include songs of sorrow/loss, war/marching, happiness/peace, and of praise to my world’s creator (God) to give my story a lively connection to convey its worldbuilding, emotions, and morals.

I have always like the idea of being a playwright after reading The Redwall series by Brian Jacques who showed his ability of a playwright in the fun and epic songs he included in his stories that always gave it a more memorable impression.

What genre/story setting do you like to focus on?

A real hero remains accountable until the end.

Graham
    @graham

That is great you are wanting to write songs! When I started playing music I knew absolutely nothing about music, so it can totally be learned!