fb

Hello! Meet Elena May

Forums General Site Info Introduce Yourself Hello! Meet Elena May

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Elena May
    @elena-may

Hello! Nice to meet you!

I’m a Christian college student still trying to figure out what I want to do with my life. Right now I’m an English major but hoping to become a speech therapist eventually. But I love learning and am interested in so many different areas. Some other areas I was interested in at one time were archaeology, voice acting, turkey farming, choir conducting, being a Dante scholar, and the list continues.

I’ve always loved stories, especially fantasy and historical fiction novels, and I know that they will always have a major part in my life. It’s been a wish of mine since I was little to be a writer, but though I wrote in school, did a bit of fan fiction, and have been working on worldbuilding, I never got serious about writing. So when I heard about Story Embers in April I figured it would be a great opportunity to actually get myself writing.

Becoming an English major has exposed me to more types of writing. This spring I took a free verse poetry class, and while I don’t see myself becoming a great poet, I do really appreciate the power of the genre now and I want to continue writing poetry. Last fall I wrote my first piece of creative non-fiction for a class, and I found that I was really interested in that genre. I would love to explore it more also, in addition to my first loves of fantasy and historical fiction.