fb

Hello everyone!

Forums General Site Info Introduce Yourself Hello everyone!

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    katie02
    @katie02

Hey everyone!

I’m an older teenage writer who has been scribbling little bits of stories on paper ever since I can remember. I LOVE historical fiction… and that’s what I love to write. However, I have a very bad habit of starting too many stories. Currently I have one serious WIP (that I really plan to finish): it’s set in a miner’s town in California in 1913, and has it all: kidnappings, missing people, adventure, escape, abandoned mines, shady pasts, and a lost baby that’s found in a mail car on a train. REALLY fun and REALLY hard to write (I would love to get an opinion from an unbiased reader on the first chapter, I posted it in the historical fiction group). I wanted to join Story Embers to get opinions and help on the hard bits, and to have y’all help me see where I need to grow as a writer.

My goal is to teach my readers in an engaging way about lesser known historical facts (I’m an avid history lover), but also to reinforce truths found in Scripture and challenge them in their own lives. The current WIP’s moral is: “The trials God sends His children always accomplish two Divine purposes… making heaven better to us, and making us better for heaven.” Something that I’m being taught often, and something that I felt burdened to write about.

Reading through some of these topics has already given me some ideas, and I’m really excited!

claire
    @claire-h