Glad to be here!

Forums General Site Info Introduce Yourself Glad to be here!

This topic contains 9 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Gabrielle Pollack 5 months ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

Piperbee
    @piperbee

I’m Moriah, but my pen name is Piper Bee. Either is honestly fine, I get called both on the internet. I’m married, mom of three (E almost 5yo, S 3.5, and G 15 months), and I’m back in college, studying Japanese. My husband and I want to move to Japan as soon as we get an opportunity!

I’ve been writing for ten years, but I didn’t start to take it seriously until about a year ago. I have an 80k word novel written, the first in a fairytale series. This book is my baby! I also wrote a 60k word sci-fi (first draft) for NaNoWriMo last year, and I’m currently indulging “shiny story syndrome” and am 32k words (and about 5-10k more to go) into a summer romance novel. The last one I started a week and a half ago, and I’m starting to feel like I can actually churn out books. Since my first project is going on 11 years, it feels good to get a book out in a couple of weeks!

I have yet to publish anything, but that part I am trusting God with. He keeps telling me that His timing is best. My job is just to not give up. He has a plan! As for *my* plan, I want to publish my fairytale book this year, and so I’m building my audience and writing short stories in the same world.

I am glad I found Story Embers! I felt like the Christian world was lacking a little bit in the way of guiding Christian creatives. How should we write fiction? How do we create real characters with honest struggles, but not excuse sin? I’ve had a long journey figuring how what is “right” and “wrong” and coming to the conclusion that it’s not black and white. The main thing is honoring God!

I look forward to participating here!

Gabrielle Pollack
    @gabriellepollack