Does 5 years of experience count if I started at 11

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions Does 5 years of experience count if I started at 11

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous

So I’ve been writing Consistently for five years which sounds all good and well except for the fact that I started at 11. What I want to know is does it still count? Cause at 11 I was hardly producing anything worth reading. I know that’s everyone who first starts out but could it have been even worse since I was so young? Does experience as a kid even matter at all?

Naiya Dyani
      @naiya-dyani

@phoenix Of course. Kid experience with not-so-great writing just means you’re getting your bad-writing-phase over with sooner. 😉 I’ve written off-and-on since I was 11.

Hearts are like matter--they can be beaten down, torn, and burned, but they cannot be destroyed.

Taylor Clogston
        @taylorclogston

@phoenix I don’t think that’s the most healthy way to look at it.

If I used the same reckoning as you, I’ve been writing for almost 20 years. A good 95% of my skill developed in the latter 15 of those years, and probably 75% of my skill developed over a span of about fourteen months only a few years ago.

Don’t look at whatever writing you’ve done in the past as something holding you back today. If you can take a lesson from some identified failure, then cool, do that. Otherwise, what does any past experience “count?” What does that even mean? As I say to an obnoxious degree around here, practice doesn’t make perfect. Only perfect practice makes perfect.

Experience as a kid matters if you developed your skill as a kid. Experience as a teen or an adult matters if it resulted in developed skill. The best time to plant a tree is yesterday, etc.