Critique request [EMBERS book blurb]

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions Critique request [EMBERS book blurb]

This topic contains 14 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Emberynus The Dragonslayer 2 weeks, 5 days ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author

Jenna Terese
    @jenwriter17

Hi, all! I recently wrote up the book blurb for my superhero novel, Embers. I’m not very good at writing blurbs and I feel like this one is too long. Any and all help will be appreciated!

Here’s the link to the blurb: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1LRD3ndwALf7aaoKmpeKP6rEQEUW5x-3-UaGWQ4UAp5k/edit?usp=sharing

@seekjustice @rochellaine @theresa-play @dekreel @snapper @gabrielle-pollack @faith_blum @kendra-lynne @christianna-hellwig @ariel @anyone

"If you want to change the world, pick up your pen and write." -Martin Luther
    www.jennaterese.com

Emberynus The Dragonslayer
    @emberynus-the-dragonslayer

@jenwriter17

Hey, I’m kinda new on here and I don’t know if I can do much to help you with this. . . but I’ll try.

I do think it’s a little long. I just researched book blurbs and there are a lot of helpful websites with ideas on writing them. I think researching it on line would be very helpful.

http://authorsociety.com/17-tips-how-write-blurb-sells

here’s one place I found

hope it helps

You can't live for long living for nothing-Hector Griffin

Jenna Terese
      @jenwriter17

@emberynus-the-dragonslayer This is a great article! Thank you! This will really help me with this 🙂

www.jennaterese.com

Faith Blum
      @faith_blum

I made one comment on the doc, but my main suggestion is to cut it down a lot. Book blurbs should be shorter than what you have. Keep it to the most basic parts of the storyline only and do three or four paragraphs. Basically, follow the tips in the article mentioned above.

ISTJ ~ Independently published author ~ wife ~ mother of two in heaven ~ www.faithblum.com

@jenwriter17