fb

Chapter Poem

Forums Poetry Poetry Discussions Chapter Poem

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    ScarletImmortalized
    @scarletimmortalized

Hi!

I’m writing a WW2 fictional tale with a friend and I’ve been going through editing. Thinking it would be fun to place a small bit of poetry at the beginning of each chapter…I did…

I am no poet.

Would anyone be interested in letting me tag them once in a while to look at a four line piece of a poem that starts the new chapter? Maybe give me some tips? It’s quite simple.

Thanks,

Scarlet

“Scarlet, What are you eating?” ~ “Ghost peppers...” ~ Robin sighed.

Libby
    @libby

@scarletimmortalized I love writing poetry, but I’m still learning myself!  However, if you still would like to have someone to look over your poetry, I would love to. 🙂

"Young people, you must pray, for your passions are strong and your wisdom is little."C.H.Spurgeon

Evelyn
    @evelyn

@scarletimmortalized That sounds really neat! Tag me if you want!

ScarletImmortalized
    @scarletimmortalized

Thanks @libby @evelyn. I only dabbled in poetry in the elementary grades. I really like poetry, but I am very unexperienced.

Here’s the first chapter’s piece:

On opposite sides, gaze meets gaze, across a dark chasm so great.

A choice to be made. To continue to love, or to bow to hate.

Everyone tells them to turn away, to abandon the other.

But how can brother turn away from brother?

Evelyn
    @evelyn

@scarletimmortalized I like it! It clearly gets the point across. I think though that a “:” would be added after “A choice to be made.”

On opposite sides, gaze meets gaze, across a dark chasm so great.

A choice to be made: To continue to love, or to bow to hate.

Libby
    @libby

@scarletimmortalized This is very meaningful – I think – and I like it a lot!