fb

Art tips (As requested XD)

Forums Art Art Discussions Art tips (As requested XD)

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Rose
    @rose-colored-fancy

@erynne @sparrowhawke

So, you guys asked for this XD I’ll try to give some more general tips that I wish I could tell myself a couple years ago.

For anyone else dropping in, the context of this is that I’m a digital artist, I’ve been doing art seriously for about… four years? I’ve been doing digital art for the last two years, I think.

For my program, I use Krita and a pressure-sensitive drawing tablet. (Wacom Intuous, one of the smaller sizes, I think 12,5″?) But I often sketch traditionally.

1. Use! References! I’m not kidding, this is the one thing I wish I had known when I started. You cannot draw everything from imagination, no matter how good you are, and you don’t have to. There is no shame in using references, even professional artists do it. You’ll progress much faster if you use references.

I’ll often use multiple references, one for lighting, one for the pose, several for clothing, one for backgrounds, some for textures or colors. Things generally don’t look like you think they do. I even use references for straight-on portraits sometimes.

2. Learn to break things down into shapes. You can find a lot of great videos on this, but basically, learn to break down references to simple shapes. Once you learned that, it makes it so much easier to draw new and more complicated things.

Honestly, my thought process while I’m drawing is something along the lines of “That blob there, next to a bigger, pointier blob, with that kind of angle–” You don’t think about “I’m drawing an eye! I know what an eye looks like!” It’s more like “Okay, angle like this, blob like that, lighter blob there.”