An artist I am NOT.

Forums Art Art Discussions An artist I am NOT.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    KR LaLonde
    @kr-lalonde

Hello, anyone who joins me. I’ve tried my hand at artistic things a few times in the past, but I’m not very good at it. Drawing is virtually impossible  Painting is only “good” if I painting something that’s already been made.

What I mean by that last is that I’ve tried painting a few pictures. They turned out horrendous. I actually covered one with blue paint and was going to try something else but that turned out to be just as horrid.

So far, all I’ve been able to do is paint something that’s already made. Something made of wood, usually, though I tried something with nail polish (I’m actually fairly pleased with the result).

I bought several items for painting last week and now have them taking up space. I wish so much I could at least draw.

*UGH*

HAPPY WRITING!!

The Fledgling Artist
    @the-fledgling-artist

Hello artistic friend! I’m sure your work isn’t as bad as you think. Every artist I’ve ever met is highly (usually overly) critical of their work. (Including myself, haha.)

Getting better just takes a lot of dedication/practice/ and time, but if you keep painting I know you’ll see improvement eventually. Don’t give up!! 😀

"Though I'm not yet who I will be, I'm no longer who I was."

DeepRun
    @deeprun

@kr-lalonde

Have you ever been taught drawing?

Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain, is a fantastic way to learn how to draw.  So much of it is learning how to see and then translating that to paper.  I.e., thing are shapes and translating those shapes into lines.

You do not have a soul. You have a body.
    You are a soul. - C.S. Lewis

KR LaLonde
    @kr-lalonde

@the-fledgling-artist

You could be right. I don’t know, though. And in order for you to be sure of what you’re saying I’d have to share photos of my paintings. IMO, they’re worse than Picasso.

@deeprun