fb

Am I good enough for character commissions?

Forums Art Art Discussions Am I good enough for character commissions?

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author
    luciusbraun
    @theswordinthebook

Hey y’all. It’s been while since I have been active on here i know. Life hit I guess *laughs nervously. Anyways, here I am, with a pressing question on my mind:

I am a freelance artist, who consists in digital art only. Just my thing. All of my life, I have loved to draw characters from stories, do little pieces for friends, character design, and so forth. Recently though I have become more solid in my art style, and more confident, as I can replicate a similar style each time I draw. XD I mainly do art just for fun, personal enjoyment, or for friends who would like their character drawn. I have an art Instagram account as well ( it is @smudge_viel if you would like to check it out)

However, my mind has been stuck on this thought lately: “Am I good enough for commissions?”

Personally, I would love to do something I love that other people would enjoy. I understand the joy of seeing your character, or yourself in an artwork form. It really is the coolest thing. And I would really like to maybe sell art commissions, mainly catering to characters and similar things.

I am an artist, who is at that point were I would really like to start making some money. And for life reasons, I need to find out how to make some money on the side for life. For example, I would love to be able to buy my first car this year without going into debt. But, I need to find a way to make enough money for that, so why not start with something I love to do. 🙂

I have talked to some close friends of mine about my idea, and they think it is good. But I would love the opinion of people who don’t know me personally after seeing my artwork. I have included some examples of my artwork so y’all can see what I am working with. 🙂