A Question (I don't know what to title this)

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions A Question (I don't know what to title this)

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    Elizabeth
    @elizabeth

First things first: hi everyone! I’ve been away from SE for a bit because of school and work, but school is over for now and work is winding down as Christmas creeps closer (eeep!) so I thought I’d pop in and say hello!

And now for the actual question. Or maybe it isn’t a question, just…an introduction? To my new WIP. But also a question, because I’ve never written one of these before…

By “these” I mean a fairy tale retelling. Of Aladdin, specifically. I haven’t started writing it yet, because worldbuilding and character creating takes time, but I’m more concerned with the plot. See, I have character roles assigned to each of my characters–One of my MCs is Aladdin, his sisters Zillah and Suri kind of share the role of  Jasmine, and my villain is Jafar–but as for the actual plot…my MCs must find their sister, who was separated from them when they were kids, in order to keep control of their powers. In order to do that, though, they have to navigate a band of vicious thieves, a kingdom who hates their existence, and a servant girl who is nothing like she seems.

My MC, Kova, also accidentally becomes a palace guard and has to hide his rapidly-growing-stronger powers. Silly kiddo.

So yeah. I have characters who resemble the ones from Aladdin, but a plot that really doesn’t. There’s no fancy scene where Kova finds a girl and takes her on a magic carpet ride, and there’s no genie. But should there be? You guys tell me.

If you have any other questions about my WIP or need any more info, just lemme know! Thanks!

Tags: @kate (duh) @sarah-inkdragon @i-david @karthmin @seekjustice Feel free to tag others!

INTP. Writer of fantasy and sci-fi. Wannabe artist. Anime geek. Merakian.

Sarah Inkdragon
    @sarah-inkdragon

@elizabeth

*cracks knuckles*