fb

Reply To: Where on earth would I start looking for an editor?

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions Where on earth would I start looking for an editor? Reply To: Where on earth would I start looking for an editor?

Brianna Storm Hilvety
@briannastorm

@noah-cochran

So are you saying that I would need $4k times three different editors (so $12k) to edit a 200k book? Or are developmental and copy editors cheaper? Either way, that seems slightly gratuitous–then again, I have no experience here. xD

You’ve packed two questions into this: 1) Should an author pay for a full-scale edit at every level? 2) Would all of those editors cost the same as the estimate I gave you for line editing?

My answer to both is no.

Editing rates are proportionate to the depth of the changes involved, so in order of most intensive/expensive to least intensive/expensive, this is how the list would go: 1) developmental editing, 2) line editing & copyediting, 3) proofreading. In other words, developmental editing costs more than line editing, and proofreading is the cheapest service of the three.