fb

Reply To: Showing Internal Conflict

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions Showing Internal Conflict Reply To: Showing Internal Conflict

Rose
@rose-colored-fancy

@noah-cochran

I actually wrote an entire schpeel and then accidentally deleted it XD But it’s actually exactly what @r-m-archer said, except she said it far better and clearer than I did. Character’s reactions, and how their reactions change, is the best way to show internal conflict.

It’s especially good if you can have two similar circumstances, one at the beginning and one at the end, and show the difference. Or even have the character themselves think something like “A *period of time* ago I would have– but now–”

Now, I actually have something to add here:

Also, what are y’all’s favorite ways to communicate the backstory/ghost that is causing the character’s flaw or misbelief from one character to another? I did it a couple times in dialogue, but I’m worried it’s fake feeling.

Warning, I’m not good at communicating backstory to the reader (Still working on that XD) But between characters, I have some ideas.

Dialogue is your best option, but not your only one.

Make sure the other characters need to know. Sometimes the past is best left in the past and characters don’t need to know everything about each other. I have several characters who don’t know much about each other’s past until the very end of the book. It just isn’t necessary. It won’t change the plot, and it won’t change their relationship.

If one of your characters is very emotionally intelligent/empathetic, they might guess a large part of the internal conflict without needing to be told. (And will probably start acting on it, and slowly try to get more information out of the character.)

The most common way to reveal backstory in dialogue is the trusting confession, also known as “Sitting around a campfire, exchanging childhood trauma.” You see this a lot in movies.