fb

Reply To: Howdy Al!

Forums General Site Info Introduce Yourself Howdy Al! Reply To: Howdy Al!

Rose
@rose-colored-fancy

@noah-cochran

I have some experience around what-to-be writers.   My sister is working on a trilogy right now, and she has a few friends (some she met on kingdompen) who are also down that same alley. I’ve been doing practice writings (envisioning scenes, and then writing them out in a mix of prose and dialogue) and then have my sister and friend (an avid reader) look over them and give me tips. Maybe I’ll send some of y’all my practice writings so you can give me your advice.

I’d love to see them! That’s a great way to practice! Oh yeah, Kingdom Pen! I read the articles and newsletters, but I’m not on the forum.

Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot series is fantastic, but the best three are probably Death on the Nile, Murder on the Orient Express, and The Death of Sir Roger Ackroyd.

Great! I’ll remember those, I’ve heard a lot about them!

I’ve got some cousins who love Flanagan’s books. I read most of the Ranger’s Apprentice series, and it was alright; but I will agree that a couple of the character’s relationship’s was the best part.

Totally! I feel like the series was best between books 5-9. Before that, the writing had little direction, and after that, the arc had ended and it felt like tacking onto a series that didn’t need it. And the plots have been deteriorating, honestly. But the ‘found family’ relationships between the characters were amazing and really well-rounded.

The False Prince is a great book. Probably one of the best single ya books I’ve read (the rest of the series is decent). My younger sister has read her historical fiction, I might try it sometimes, but I’m more of the medieval and renaissance guy.

Definitely! The first book was by far the best. After that, it started getting flatter, since the big secret was out. (It really could have benefitted from more pronounced themes and stronger character development, imo)