fb

Reply To: Willing to Beta-Read

Forums Fiction General Writing Discussions Willing to Beta-Read Reply To: Willing to Beta-Read

The Inkspiller
@the-inkspiller

AHA!

A rare beta-reader!

Be prepared to be swamped with supplicants.

By the way, I don’t think we’ve met. I tend to lie dormant for weeks / months at a time only to suddenly answer a flurry of weird medical questions on this one particular thread in Fantasy Fiction Writers….
Anyways, I guess I’m primarily a fantasy fiction writer with a strong historical bent. My current labor of maddening obsession (when I’m not studying for my licensing exam, may I pass on the first try!) is a series of novels, Rest for the Wicked, set around the Hussite Wars of early 15th century Bohemia (modern Czech Republic). The story follows a power-hungry border countess, her motley crew of minions and companions, and their emotional, mental, and spiritual baggage on a collective quest for power, purpose, and maybe a pint to wash it down.

I guess the story probably deserves a more serious blurb than that, but at this stage I try not to take myself too seriously. It’s only drama if the reader likes it; if it’s overdone, it mellows into melodrama.

I’m ADHD too… it’s hard to concentrate on anything I actually need to do, but then when I do focus on something, I can’t tear myself away – even if it’s the most useless, stupid, futile activity. Then suddenly it will click, and I can write 8000 words in a day or sit still for 10 hours just hammering away at a story until I physically cannot see the screen anymore because my eyes are that blurry. It’s honestly a burden, its apparent size largely dependent on the beholder. I’ll heed my own words and shy away from undue melodrama, but it sucks.