fb

Reply To: Howdy, all.

Forums General Site Info Introduce Yourself Howdy, all. Reply To: Howdy, all.

Rose
@rose-colored-fancy

@fitz

I actually didn’t know about that before, lol. I don’t know if it was more or less creative that they just stuck the skull on a black blob instead of creating some goofy looking monster to try and make it work (like the rest of humanity since forever XD )

LOL, I can just imagine a bunch of Greek artists staring at the skull like “Now what do we do?” “Minotaur?” “We have one!” “Cyclops?” “We have one!” “How about… a black blob?” “Genius.”

That authenticity of character can make the entire difference between a story that is a cliche Franken-trope and something that is really enjoyable. And as for plot, I think its primary goal should be to fuel character development.

Exactly! Now I’m a writer, I can actually tell when a writer is literally just creating an ‘arena’ for character development. “The Westing Game” comes to mind since a large part of that plot was just there to force the characters to interact. (Though it did feel a little complicated to me and I had trouble keeping everything straight.)

Most plots are very simple when you break them down, which makes sense since life is usually straightforward from that perspective. Moreover, even clever plots feel convoluted and contrived rather than intricate when disconnected from the characters that should be the driving force of the plot. When you boil it down, why we tell stories, and why we listen, is because of the change their example makes in us. It’s the human element.

Definitely! No matter how twisty or ingenious a plot is, if I don’t engage with the characters, I just don’t care. I actually quite enjoy simple, straightforward plots, as long as the characters are interesting and complicated.

(“So long and thanks for all the fish…” XD)