fb

Reply To: Howdy, all.

Forums General Site Info Introduce Yourself Howdy, all. Reply To: Howdy, all.

Fitz
@fitz

@rose-colored-fancy

Oh, my goodness, that’s hilarious! XD I studied some Latin texts and I still think it’s one of the funniest things how many of the great ‘classical texts’ are basically fanfiction (Aeneid was literally fanfic of the Illiad) XD

HA! we all need inspiration from something, right? Or how about all those mid to late medieval paintings are that are just monks taking out their frustration with their gardens being eaten by snails by depicting them as monsters being slain my the local knights.

Oh, wow! That’s amazing! I’ve never attempted it, but I can imagine how much work that is!

It is weird. Learning about languages was a seriously brain melting experience (cramming most of the information in my cranium within the span of about two weeks miiight have had something to do with that, lol). Once you kinda understand it though, the grammatical and phonetic structure becomes more a matter of having fun and just being consistent. It opens so much thought about how a different people (or race, such as dragons in my example) think and operate, which helps inform the language which itself circles back again towards culture. It is a fun and wonderful thought experiment
Of course, it becomes a hassle again (imo) when you work on the lexicon. You create a batch of core words, figure out some naturalistic way of them growing into a full dictionary while throwing in the ways languages morph… and iterate that a few dozen times… bleh. Of course, that is only if you want to ensure that hardcore linguistics wont be offended by your made up language in a made up story in your made up world, lol.