fb

Reply To: Howdy, all.

Forums General Site Info Introduce Yourself Howdy, all. Reply To: Howdy, all.

Rose
@rose-colored-fancy

@fitz

They were wondering what cultural or religious significance this bare patch of rocky cliff face just off the road could possibly have… until they translated it to discover it was the ancient equivalent of a 7/11 bathroom wall in the middle of nowhere Kentucky. XD

Oh, my goodness, that’s hilarious! XD I studied some Latin texts and I still think it’s one of the funniest things how many of the great ‘classical texts’ are basically fanfiction (Aeneid was literally fanfic of the Illiad) XD

Oh man, I am actually… about halfway (?) through making a language of my own for the dragons in my world. When I first started looking into it, it was like shoving my brain through a sieve learning all the OTHER ways language could work. I have a lot of the raw and fundamental rules done for it (such as phonemes, ergativity, classes [genders], and syllable structure), but haven’t worked much on the lexicon. I want to finish at some point before I publish, but even if I don’t it was a fascinating journey.

Oh, wow! That’s amazing! I’ve never attempted it, but I can imagine how much work that is! When I need variations on language, I often just take small elements of languages I know and just state that one of the languages works like that.

Example: “Why did you just use a double negative?” “Why didn’t you?” I’ve never actually used that one specifically, but I could XD

I also think it’s fascinating how common languages would work, especially in the cases where it’s a blend of several languages instead of just one language like ‘If you want to trade with us, you speak our language.’ That’s also a big part of colonization and doesn’t make much sense outside it.