Self-assessment is hard to do well. To make your assessment as reliable as possible, please follow these directions.

You will be presented with 5 writing ranks for 14 different areas of writing.

Rank 1 describes beginners.
Rank 2 describes those who know the basics.
Rank 3 describes an intermediate skill level.
Rank 4 describes readiness for publication.
Rank 5 describes experts.

Think carefully about which rank you fall into for each area on the quiz.

If you are in doubt about which rank you are, round down and choose the lower rank.

Do not choose a higher rank unless you hit every requirement on the list. Remember, the goal is to discover where you need to grow.

Looking to make your assessment even more reliable? Find an honest writing friend you trust to take this assessment for you!

Learn What Readers Want

We compiled and analyzed how 300+ readers answered 18 questions about what they want to see in fiction. Get the free e-book and we'll also regularly send you resources to help you grow as a writer.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest